Buffalo/Pepin County Teen Court Panelists Receive $500 Scholarships

Two senior members from Buffalo/Pepin County Teen Court, will receive scholarships for their role in juvenile restorative justice.  Kayla Kaczorowski is one of only two state 2018 award recipients from the Wisconsin Teen Court Association (WTCA). The WTCA Scholarship encourages new and long term volunteer participation while encouraging ongoing education. Maya Smith is the first ever recipient of the Buffalo / Pepin County Teen Court Scholarship. To apply, applicants were asked to describe their role in their local Teen Court as what impact they felt Teen Court has on their community. In addition, Maya and Kayla filled out a cover letter and received a recommendation from a coordinator from Buffalo/Pepin County Teen Court.

Kayla Kaczorowski – $500 Wisconsin Teen Court Association Scholarship Recipient

Kayla Kaczorowski, daughter of Kalene Engel and Joe Kaczorowski, is a senior at Cochrane- Fountain City High School. In her essay, Kayla wrote that what she has values most from her Teen Court experiences is the skills she’s gained that will last a lifetime. She learned that multiple perspectives on an issue is so important and that an individual’s family, school and community situation impacts how they see and interact in the world. Kayla has served as a Buffalo/Pepin County Teen Court panelist for three and half years. Her future plans include attending Viterbo University to pursue a degree in Biopsychology.

Maya Smith – $500 Buffalo / Pepin County Teen Court Scholarship Recipient

Maya Smith, daughter of Carly Smith, is a senior at Alma High School. Maya has served as a Buffalo/Pepin County Teen Court panelist since April 2015. Throughout her years in Teen Court, Maya has developed many skills and knowledge, but those in speaking, listening, deliberating and advising are the skills most important to Maya as she plan to utilize them in a future career as a mental health counselor. Maya says that she applied for teen court four years ago because she wanted to give peers a second chance and improve lives in her community. Maya plans to attend the University of Wisconsin-Stout to pursue a degree in Human Development and Family Studies.

The scholarships will be awarded at the students’ graduation award ceremonies by Buffalo/Pepin Teen Court Coordinators Marie Ritscher, University of Wisconsin-Extension, Pepin County 4-H Youth Development Agent, and Annie Lisowski, University of Wisconsin-Extension, Buffalo County 4-H Youth Development Educators. The scholarships are also accompanied by $500 cash award to be utilized for secondary education in the fall of 2018.

To learn more about Buffalo/Pepin Teen Court or the University of Wisconsin-Extension, visit our webpage at https://buffalo.uwex.edu/teencourt.

Sharing is Caring - Click Below to Share